Facebook Twitter Instagram Flickr YouTube Vimeo
Problems reading this message? View it on-line.
Vancouver International Film Festival | viff.org
VIFF Announces Full Lineup of Awards and Juries for the 35th Annual Festival
More than $80,000 in prizes to be awarded
Share this release: facebookTwitter More...

VANCOUVER, B.C. (September 23, 2016) – The Vancouver International Film Festival (VIFF) released today its full list of awards and jurors that will recognize the outstanding films and filmmakers featured at the 35th annual festival, including the People's Choice Award presented by Super Channel, which empowers festival goers to have their voices heard. All awards are presented during the festival, and are significant cash prizes that help further the creative careers of both Canadian and international filmmakers by celebrating their exceptional work.

All juried awards will be announced at an awards ceremony at The Centre for the Performing Arts on October 8. The full list of awards and jurors is as follows:

BC Spotlight Awards
Jury members: Ron Mann, Ana Valine, Elle-Máijá Tailfeathers

  • Ignite Award
    • Presented by TELUS, this award recognizes the exceptional work of a female key creative on a BC-produced feature or short film. The winner will receive $20,000 that can be used towards future productions or further training.

  • Best BC Film
    • Awarded to a narrative feature, which will receive a $10,000 development bursary from the Harold Greenburg Fund and a $15,000 post-production services credit supplied by Encore (Deluxe Ent Services Group).

  • BC Emerging Filmmaker
    • A $7,500 cash prize sponsored by the Union of BC Performers and ACTRA Fraternal Benefits Society, along with a $10,000 equipment credit from William F. White. First or second narrative features that are signatory to a UBCP/ACTRA agreement are eligible for this award.

    Canadian Film Awards
    Narrative Features
    Jury members: Kiva Reardon, Andrew Struthers, Tony Zhou

  • Best Canadian Feature
    • A $10,000 award sponsored by the Directors Guild of Canada will be presented to one of the 14 nominated Canadian narrative features.

  • Emerging Canadian Director
    • The Directors Guild of Canada will also present a $2,000 award to one of the nine nominated films that mark the director's first or second narrative feature.

    Documentary Features
    Jury members: Damien Gillis, Julia Ivanova, Charles Wilkinson

  • Best Canadian Documentary
    • Presented by the Rogers Documentary Fund, $15,000 will be award to a Canadian documentary feature film.

    Short Film Awards
    Jury members: Lewis Bennett, Scooter Corkle, Kathleen Hepburn

  • Best Canadian Short Film
    • Presented by Lexus, one Canadian short film will receive $2,500.

  • Best BC Short Film
    • Presented by Creative BC, on BC short film will be awarded $5,000.

  • Most Promising Director of a Canadian Short Film
    • $2,000 to be awarded to a director of a Canadian made short film.

    Impact Awards
    Radcliffe Foundation Award

  • Radcliffe Foundation Refugee Crisis Awareness Short Film Competition
    • Presented by the Radcliffe Foundation, the competition focuses on a short film that encourages Canadians to take action on the global refugee crisis. Determined by online voting by the public, the winner of this competition will receive $20,000.

      The winner will be announced at VIFF's Opening Night gala on September 29.

    VIFF Impact Award
    Jury members: John Bolton, Tracey Friesen, Leonard Schein

      A $5,000 prize, presented by Leonard Schein, will be awarded to one of nine issues-oriented documentary films in the Impact programming stream

      The VIFF Impact Award winner will be announced at VIFF's Awards Ceremony on October 8.

    VIFF Industry Builder Award
    Winner: Chris Carter

      In its second year, the VIFF Industry Builder award, presented by MPPIA to celebrate BC Creates, recognizes a key influencer in the creative industry. This year's award will be given to Chris Carter, creator of The X-Files,for his exemplary sustainable production methods for the Vancouver-shot revival season of The X-Files. The award will be presented at a luncheon on October 7.
      Tickets are available here

    Audience Awards

  • Super Channel People's Choice Award
    • Casting ballots after every screening, VIFF festival-goers will determine the winner of the Super Channel People's Choice Award. The results of this balloting will also determine the winner of several other audience awards.

      All audience award winners will be announced at VIFF's Closing Night gala on October 14.

  • #mustseeBC
    • Presented by Telus Optik Local, this award promotes BC films by encouraging local filmmakers to actively engage their fans through social networks in the lead-up to the festival. Online voting determines which film is the most-anticipated and this "Must See BC" feature receives a special red carpet screening following the festival.

      The Must See BC film will be announced at VIFF's Opening Night gala on September 29.

    Screening tickets start at $15. All tickets are available for purchase at viff.org.

    Each year VIFF relies on the hard work of more than 1,000 volunteers to assist in running the festival. Volunteer registration is now open at viff.org/volunteer.

    Founded in 1982, the Greater Vancouver International Film Festival Society is a not-for-profit cultural society and federally registered charitable organization that operates the internationally acclaimed Vancouver International Film Festival (VIFF) and the year-round programming of the Vancity Theatre at the Vancouver International Film Centre. VIFF produces screenings, talks and events that act as a catalyst for a diverse community to discover, discuss and share the creativity and craft of storytelling on screen. In its 35th year, the Vancouver International Film Festival welcomes the world to Vancouver from September 29-October 14, 2016 as it showcases the top BC, Canadian and international films and plays host to industry professionals from around the globe. viff.org

    Media accreditation to attend VIFF 2016 is now closed. For late accreditation requests, or for a press pass for Late Night at VIFF Hub, please contact press@viff.org.