Facebook Twitter Instagram Flickr YouTube Vimeo
Problems reading this message? View it on-line.
Vancouver International Film Festival | viff.org
VIFF Announces Nine Awards Celebrating BC and Canadian Filmmakers and VIFF Impact Award
More than $100,000 awarded in cash and in-kind prizes to help further projects and professional development of Canadian content creators
Share this release: facebookTwitter More...

VANCOUVER, B.C. (October 8, 2016) – The Vancouver International Film Festival (VIFF) announced nine awards on Saturday night at the festival's annual BC Spotlight Gala to celebrate and recognize the talent of Canadian and BC filmmakers. Also announced was the VIFF Impact award, which honours an issues-oriented documentary.

This year's slate of award-winners includes an animated odyssey wedding poetry and politics; a masterfully crafted short documentary about Vancouver's cab drivers; an indictment of hockey's toxic masculinity; an intimate portrait of a grandmother and grandchild; and an immaculately crafted look at young love and heartbreak in the north.

Ignite Award, presented by TELUS, this award recognizes the exceptional work of a female key creative on a BC-produced feature or short film. The winner receives $20,000 that can be used towards future productions or further training.
WINNER: Cabbie (dirs. Jessica Parsons, Jennifer Chiu)
Honourable Mention: Here Nor There (dir. Julia Hutchings)
Jury members: Ron Mann, Ana Valine, Elle-Máijá Tailfeathers

Best BC Film Award, awarded to a narrative feature, which receives a $10,000 development bursary from the Harold Greenburg Fund and a $15,000 post-production services credit supplied by Encore (Deluxe Ent Services Group).
WINNER: Window Horses (dir. Ann Marie Fleming)
Jury members: Ron Mann, Ana Valine, Elle-Máijá Tailfeathers

BC Emerging Filmmaker Award, a $7,500 cash prize sponsored by the Union of BC Performers and ACTRA Fraternal Benefits Society, along with a $10,000 equipment credit from William F. White. First or second narrative features that are signatory to a UBCP/ACTRA agreement are eligible for this award.
WINNER: Hello Destroyer (dir. Kevan Funk)

Best Canadian Film, a $10,000 award sponsored by the Directors Guild of Canada is presented to one of the 14 nominated Canadian narrative features.
WINNER: Window Horses (dir. Ann Marie Fleming)
Jury members: Kiva Reardon, Andrew Struthers, Tony Zhou

Emerging Canadian Director, the Directors Guild of Canada presents a $2,000 award to one of the nine nominated films that mark the director's first or second narrative feature.
WINNER: Never Eat Alone (dir. Sofia Bohdanowicz)
Jury members: Kiva Reardon, Andrew Struthers, Tony Zhou

Best Canadian Documentary, presented by the Rogers Documentary Fund, $15,000 is awarded to a Canadian documentary feature film.
WINNER: Living With Giants (dirs. Sebastien Rist, Aude Leroux-Lévesque)
Honourable Mention: Quebec My Country Mon Pays (dir. John Walker)
Jury members: Damien Gillis, Julia Ivanova, Charles Wilkinson

Best BC Short Film, presented by Creative BC, one BC short film is awarded $5,000.
WINNER: Here Nor There (dir. Julia Hutchings)
Honourable Mention: Srorrim (dir. Wayne Wapeemukwa)
Jury members: Lewis Bennett, Scooter Corkle, Kathleen Hepburn

Best Canadian Short Film, presented by Lexus, one Canadian short film receives $2,500.
WINNER: Ceux qui restent/Those Who Remains (dir. Mathieu Vachon)
Honourable Mention: Fish (dir. Heather Young)
Jury members: Lewis Bennett, Scooter Corkle, Kathleen Hepburn

Most Promising Director of a Canadian Short Film, $2,000 is awarded to a director of a Canadian made short film.
WINNER: Parent, Teacher (dir. Roman Tchjen)
Honourable Mention: Old Man (dir. Alicia Eisen)
Jury members: Lewis Bennett, Scooter Corkle, Kathleen Hepburn

VIFF Impact Award, a $5,000 prize, presented by Leonard Schein, is awarded to one of nine issues-oriented documentary films in the Impact programming stream
WINNER: Power to Change—The Energy Rebellion (dir. Carl-A. Fechner)
Jury members: John Bolton, Tracey Friesen, Leonard Schein

The Super Channel People's Choice award and additional audience awards will be presenting at VIFF's Closing Night Gala on October 14.

Founded in 1982, the Greater Vancouver International Film Festival Society is a not-for-profit cultural society and federally registered charitable organization that operates the internationally acclaimed Vancouver International Film Festival (VIFF) and the year-round programming of the Vancity Theatre at the Vancouver International Film Centre. VIFF produces screenings, talks and events that act as a catalyst for a diverse community to discover, discuss and share the creativity and craft of storytelling on screen. In its 35th year, the Vancouver International Film Festival welcomes the world to Vancouver from September 29-October 14, 2016 as it showcases the top BC, Canadian and international films and plays host to industry professionals from around the globe. viff.org

To reach the VIFF press office, pleast contact press@viff.org